Battle of the Balms

Ok, so now that you’ve seen a picture of my favorite lip balms, you probably think I’m crazy. Honestly, I may be, but I hate having chapped lips, so I am always searching for the next best thing. Along the way on my never-ending quest to find the best lip balm, I have found some amazing contenders. They are all fairly different from one another, but are all wonderful products. I am going to list my favorite products in order, the first one being my favorite.

Nuxe Rêve de Miel Ulta-Nourishing Lip Balm: Holy Jesus, Joseph, and Mary, this lip balm is good. Actually good doesn’t even begin to describe it. This lemony-scented honey balm feels like it has been sent down by the gods from Mount Olympus. I think I went a tad crazy on those last few sentences, but seriously, it’s true. This lip balm is unlike the others in that it is a matte balm, which allows it to stay on the lips for a good 4 hours, something that is quite rare for a balm. The texture is odd because when you swirl your finger in it, it feels like it has tiny exfoliants in it, but when you apply it to the lips, it goes on smooth. This balm also preps the lips perfectly for your other lip products and helps them go on smoothly. It comes in a nice, glass jar that for some reason just feels classier than the normal lip balm. I have only been using this for 2 days and it is already a holy grail product.

fresh Sugar Lip Treatment: This balm is very similar to the Nuxe balm in that it moisturizes almost as well. That being said, this balm is glossier than the Nuxe, resulting in a lower wear-time. I can get 1-2 hours out of this, before having to reapply. When applied, it feels like a thin layer of butter on the lips, and is very comfortable to wear. The product actually has sugar, a natural humectant, in it so it is designed to retain moisture. One of the best features of this lip balm is the packaging. Lip balms that come in stick form are so much easier to use, especially on the go. With a pot, you have to worry about your hands being clean and having something to wipe your hands on after you are done applying. Like the Nuxe, this balm also has a light lemony scent that smells delicious. This has SPF in it too, which is an added bonus.

Elizabeth Arden Eight Hour Cream Skin Protectant: Containing a high amount of petrolatum, this product seriously prevents loss of moisture from the skin. This is very heavy and shiny, so I tend to not use it during the day, but I slather this onto my lips at night and in the morning my lips feel like silk. This cream can also nourish many other different kinds of skin irritations, such as dry elbows or even minor burns. I even smear it on my cuticles if they get dry. Very versatile product. I often see this product at TJ Maxx, so if you are lucky you could pick one up for only $7.99! Also, the Aquaphor pictured in this post is a cheaper alternative, and works in the same ways.

Korres Lip Butter in Jasmine: Emphasis on the word butter! This lip balm is the creamiest of the bunch and literally melts onto the lips. It has a light, sweet smell and actually provides decent color to the lips. It comes out fairly shiny, so it can act as a gloss and balm in one. I love the color Jasmine because it is a pinky-nude color that can stand alone or look great over other lip products. Wear-time is ok at about 1-2 hours, but it really does a great job of nourishing the lips. I will definitely be picking up some of the other colors of this product.

Maybelline Baby Lips: For a drugstore colored lip balm, this product does some serious moisturizing while looking gorgeous on the lips! I have the color Pink Punch, which is the perfect wash of pink and smells just like fruit punch. I find myself reapplying this fairly often, but the stick form makes it easy to do so. This balm has the highest SPF of any of these balms, with an SPF of 20.

Burt’s Bees Refreshing Lip Balm with Pink Grapefruit: Not much to say here, as everyone has heard of Burt’s Bees by now. Moisturizing and cheap. Lasts 1-2 hours.

C.O. Bigelow Rose Salve: Another popular lip balm, the rose salve can be used on lips along with dry patches all over the body. It provides moisture while smelling of delicious roses. Lasts only about an hour.

Clarins Instant Light Natural Lip Perfector: Although this is a balm-gloss hybrid, and not just a balm, I felt like it was worth mentioning anyway. I have never found a lip gloss that is moisturizing, so when I tried this product I was hooked. Being that it also has gloss in it, the wear-time is pretty low, usually hanging somewhere around an hour.

Also worth mentioning is the Lush Honey Trap lip balm, but I couldn’t find mine to include into the picture. It is an all-natural balm that lasts decently long, smells good, and provides a good amount of moisture.

I know that is a lot, but I had to mention all of the ones that I think are great. Any other lip balms I should try??

Xoxo, Sarah

Leave a Reply

